Kazunomiya: The Royal Diaries, Review

An Essay By Sarah Anne // 9/10/2012

Just short..:)

The Royal Diaries: Kazunomiya: My Review
I was looking through books at the library to see if anything caught my interest (and hardly ever anything does.) and I came across some books entitled The Royal Diaries. Not only were the front covers beautiful and colorful (which is what caught my eye), but I was almost positive that I had heard of them before. So I went over to my sister who was in the library, too, and asked her if she had heard of them, which she had. I asked her if she was interested in reading it, because I have to have her read books before I do so that she can say if they are alright to read. She said she was interested, so I checked it out. Luckily, I got to keep it for a couple of weeks, because she started it, and then stopped reading it for a few days, until I practically forced her to read it because I wanted to read it as well! Well, sure enough, she finished it; and I began to read it, I read and read and read, and in about one and a half days, I had finished it. I must say I was not disappointed in it, it was quite a good read. In fact, I enjoyed it, I couldn't put it down for a long time. It kept my interest the whole way through! There was no Christianity in it whatsoever, (not unusual, though for ancient Japan) and all the people in it were either Bhuddist or Shinto. There was a good amount of history in the back, which was also enjoyable and interesting. The Japanese culture is interesting, though I am quite sure that I am glad I was not born in that era, it was all so complicated! There was a photo of Kazunomiya near the back of the book, and of her true love(lol), Prince Arisugawa; also one of her husband, the Shogun Tokugawa Iemochi. It also had a picture of a piece of paper with her calligraphy, too. Anyways, the book was well written, and enjoyable book, and I can't wait to get to the library and pick another one. Preferably, Marie Antoinette. Anyways, My review is probably four and a half stars! Now you must read it and see if I am correct! So, yes, my little review There was nothing bad in the book, so, yes -- read it!!!

Megan,
You need to read it cause I like it a lot! :) I think you will.
~Sarah

Comments

:)

Thank you for this review! :) I always loved reading the Royal Diaries. They helped me learn a lot about history and culture but kept it really interesting and memorable. There were some I wasn't allowed to read until I was 13 or 14 because of some of the horrendous things that happened in court life.

Kyleigh | Tue, 09/11/2012

I've read that book! Got

I've read that book! Got about seven of those series. Their pretty good. Marie Antoinette is a good one; but my favourite one is the Cleopatra one. I love those kind of stories set back in ancient Egypt or Rome/Greece.

Maddi | Tue, 09/11/2012

Goodbye? Oh no, please. Can’t we just go back to page one and start all over again?” – Winnie The Pooh

I agree, Cleopatra is the

I agree, Cleopatra is the best. I've read almost all of them now. The one about Sondok, (a Korean princess, I believe - it's been quite a while) was another one of my favorites. :)

Bridget | Tue, 09/11/2012

"I always wonder why birds stay in the same place when they can fly anywhere on the earth. Then I ask myself the same question." - Harun Yahya

Oh, I haven't read that one.

Oh, I haven't read that one. My second best would probably be M.A. or Jahanara. I think its about a Indian one. I think I loved the picture on the front more that the story! And also Queen Elizabeth was pretty good. She, Catherine the Great, M.A. and Cleo are just some of my most admired history figures.

Haha, I love your quote. XD

Maddi | Tue, 09/11/2012

Goodbye? Oh no, please. Can’t we just go back to page one and start all over again?” – Winnie The Pooh

Are they fiction?

   Are they partly/mostly fiction?

Arthur | Tue, 09/11/2012

"My greatest wish for my writing is that it would point you to the Savior."

Didn't expect all those

Didn't expect all those comments! ;)
I very well may try out Cleopatra next, I am probably going to the library today, so I'm thinking whether I should get Cleo or Marie Antoinette :)
Arthur: They are part fiction, part non-fiction. Probably a lot is fiction, though. :)
~Sarah

Sarah Anne | Tue, 09/11/2012

Proverbs 3:5-6
Trust in the Lord with all thine heart, and lean not unto thine own understanding.

In all thy ways acknowledge him and he shall direct thy paths

P.S
Go to my blog and follow it: Sarahanneandrews.wordpress.com
:) for my sake, follow

Arthur: They're basically a

Arthur: They're basically a person (author) writing a diary of a princess, whom they obviously admired. Which some of it is based on real history; but yes, *sigh* some of it will be made up.
By the way, do you publish most of my writings? Do you publish most of everyone's writings?

Maddi

Maddi | Tue, 09/11/2012

Goodbye? Oh no, please. Can’t we just go back to page one and start all over again?” – Winnie The Pooh

:) Maddi: I believe that Keri

:)
Maddi: I believe that Keri does most of the publishing...if I'm not mistaken....;)

Sarah Anne | Tue, 09/11/2012

Proverbs 3:5-6
Trust in the Lord with all thine heart, and lean not unto thine own understanding.

In all thy ways acknowledge him and he shall direct thy paths

P.S
Go to my blog and follow it: Sarahanneandrews.wordpress.com
:) for my sake, follow

Maddi: Thanks! I also

Maddi: Thanks! I also thought Anacaona was pretty good, although it was very strange. But that's not surprising given her culture. (She lived in what is now modern Haiti. Or somewhere near there.)
The books are historical fiction. The characters and main events are true, the thoughts and actions are largely just the creation of the author.

Bridget | Wed, 09/12/2012

"I always wonder why birds stay in the same place when they can fly anywhere on the earth. Then I ask myself the same question." - Harun Yahya

I've seen them at the library

I've seen them at the library once. :) But how romantic is it? 'Cause I don't want to read romantic stories just right now.

Lucy Anne | Wed, 09/12/2012

"It is not the length of life, but the depth of life." Ralph Waldo Emerson

Yes.

   Yes, I do most of the publishing, and I'm sorry if I take a long time sometimes to publish, for I'm quite busy. (Keri may do some publishing.) I think that if you go to the workflow of your writing, it should say who published it.

   The reason is that certain ones of these characters were not painted so well by history.... Not to destoy your view of them; the books are probably great...though they sound more like girl's books than guy's.

Arthur | Thu, 09/13/2012

"My greatest wish for my writing is that it would point you to the Savior."

Megan: It's not really

Megan: It's not really romantic that I remember, nothing bad, nor too romantic. Not really romantic at all ;)
~Sarah

Sarah Anne | Thu, 09/13/2012

Proverbs 3:5-6
Trust in the Lord with all thine heart, and lean not unto thine own understanding.

In all thy ways acknowledge him and he shall direct thy paths

P.S
Go to my blog and follow it: Sarahanneandrews.wordpress.com
:) for my sake, follow

I wish I'd read Kazunomiya while I still could...!

I probably should've read it at the time, sense you'd checked it out, Sarah, but I just didn't feel like it then :) I did start it, but never did finish it! Lol :D

Aredhel Írissë | Sat, 09/22/2012

Navigation

User login

Please read this before creating a new account.